Vietnamese Iced Coffee

Wake up! Yes you! Open those eyes, sleepyhead! One step. Then another. That’s right, you’ve got it! As Kris Kringle would say from one of my favorite Christmas movies:

Some of us need that extra push in the morning. I am one of those people. Backtrack: I actually am a morning person, but of late, studying has kept me up well after hours. I, as well as several hundreds other high-schoolers in AP US History (APUSH), am just about to take the AP Exam. And just like all of those kids, I decided to do most of my cramming a week before the exam. *ahem- this is definitely not recommended, but absolutely unavoidable* We need a major energy boost. And it had better be good. This is exactly what I was looking for: it’s easy to make, it’s quick, it’s sweet, and it is full of caffeine. Several of my friends from Vietnam are obsessed with Vietnamese iced coffee and constantly rave about it’s absolute glory – claiming it to be one of the best coffee drinks they’ve ever had. I’ll admit, looking through a few recipes intimidated me; I don’t have special equipment and haven’t really had any experience when it comes to making specialty drinks.

When I saw this recipe, I jumped up and ran to the kitchen. First of all, I absolutely adore Bon AppĂ©tit. I look forward to it’s coming every month and check the incoming mail for it every day when a new month rolls around. As soon as it came I knew that this, among all the wonderful new recipes, would be the first I would try.

The process is quite simple really! You start out by boiling 2/3 cup of water in the microwave. Then you put the water in a clean coffee pot and add the 2 Tablespoons of coffee grounds and close the lid tightly. After 4 minutes, you put a coffee filter over your coffee mug and pour in the coffee. The grounds will stay in the filter and the coffee drain into the cup! (I had to tilt the filter oddly to make sure I didn’t spill it all over the floor.)

Immediately, you’ll add 2 scant Tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk to the coffee. I love sweetened condensed milk! It tastes a lot like caramel (go figure 😉 and is good on just about anything!

Then you whisk it up! I like to use this special whisk, it seems to work really well with drinks, but any ol’ whisk will do just fine.

Then add a couple of ice cubes, and whisk it again. And guess what! You’re finished! No more work – just sit back, relax, read a book (or in my case, an APUSH Crash Course book.)

The only thing that I ended up doing afterwards was taking out the ice cubes after my drink was cold enough – nothing major. Here’s the photo from Bon Appetit:

(photograph Copyright Bon Appetit)

This drink is absolutely amazing! Here’s the recipe:

Vietnamese Iced Coffee from Bon Appetit

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons dark-roast ground coffee
  • 2/3 cup boiling water
  • 2 tablespoons (scant) sweetened condensed milk
Preparation
  • Steep coffee grounds with 2/3 cup boiling water for 4 minutes in a heatproof container with the lid closed tightly
  • Pour through a coffee filter into a heatproof glass.
  • Add the sweetened condensed milk. (This is to taste, so if you like it differently, feel free to add more or less)
  • Whisk
  • Add a couple ice cubes
  • Whisk again
  • Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

